top of page

If you use this work, please credit my webpage.--Fatima Shaik

The Members of the Economy Society

Robinson's Atlas Plate 7 Economy Hall.jpg

The Economy Society (Société d'Economie et d'Assistance Mutuelle) began in 1836 and disbanded around the 1950s. The organization counted as members many of the activists and entrepreneurs in a community termed colored, Black, and Negro over the century. My book, Economy Hall: The Hidden History of a Free Black Brotherhood tells the story of this community from the Haitian Revolution to the creation of jazz through the life of an influential society secretary. 

Economy members served in the Battle of New Orleans and Civil War, died in the New Orleans Massacre and "Battle of Liberty Place," worked in the Reconstruction government and post-Reconstruction politics and much more. Their hall hosted public debates, theater, concerts, recitals, and balls.   

Below are the names of the 1836 founders and men who were members of the society in 1874 and 1876 when the Economy re-incorporated to include Les Amis de l’Équité—the Friends of Equity. Hundreds of men joined and departed the society over the length of its existance. These lists are only snapshots in time. 


1874 Members 

Joseph Allain

Ludger Boguille

Eugene Meilleur

Alexandre Perez

St. Marc Pajaud

Adolphe Desmazilliere

Ernest Vila

Charles Chord

Thézir Populus

Ernest Blache

Ernest Bertow

Eugene Rillieux

François Remy

Henry J. Willz?

Othello Dimmouille

Pedro Barthelemy

Français Gallaud

 Benjamin J. Xavier

Jeauble? Siméon

Victor Hubert

Ernest Wolf

Leopold Hewlett

François Tervalon

Henry Camps

E. Berthelot

Ones? Azaretto

Siméon Monde

Emile Trosclair

 H. Thomas Auginnie?

Joseph Bady

Anthony Péralt

Louis Sylvaino

Manuel Bordenave

Emile Bagneris

William Joseph Taylor

Joseph N. Caytano

Eugene Cabrere

Gustave Mathiew

Hippolyte Grelet?

Florestan Casenave

Richard Leaisoux

Ernest Lacroix

Michel Montégut

Aleide Lewis

Edouan Dumouille

Frédérie Herriman

Charles Charbonnet

Heimozene Gallaud

Remil Chiada

Alfred Jean Marie

Manuel Fuentes

Alcide Pemossier?

Joachim Louis

William Moulazon

Jean Lambert

V. Albert Meileu (sic Meilleur)

Samuel L. Armstrong

Antoine Joseph

Joseph Brulé

Lolo Dominique

Octave Esteves

Isadore M. Armand

Jules Bernard

Aristide Rivarde



Arthur L. Thibaut

Frank Smith

Charles Gignard

Jean Labeau

Charles P. Vigers

Lucien J. P. Capla

Ernest Slade

Charles Savary

Alfred Bougeois

Placide L. Lalourner?

Engle Bart

Adlophe Roger

Achille François

Eugene Rapp

Joseph Vila

Antione Mathiew

Edgar Lewis

Jean V. Bossiere

Elezée Pizéro

Jules L. Frédéric

Eugene L. Picotte

Joseph Sépéro

Signatories of the 1876 Constitution 

MOB152 Consitution of Societe D. Economie 1876 English last page copy cropped for website.

The typescript list below is an attempt to decipher the handwriting in the revised constitution of the society in 1876 (above) and replicates those spellings. Be aware that the names may be spelled differently on other documents. When possible, I have noted with an asterik names that I have double checked in other minute books to denote a more complete spelling or a transposed surname. A question mark means that I could not confirm the spelling. The remainding names should be accurate as written.

M. J. Piron

F. Casenave (*Florestan) 

V. A. Meilleur (*V. Albert) 

E. G. Gignac (*George) 

Leon Vigne

T. William (*Théodule?)

Andre Dominguez (*André)

Raymond Mary

Jules Bard

Ignace Steel

Jos. Delay (*Joseph)

Louis Carlon

J. B. Margueze (*Marquez?) 

L. A. Meilleur

Jos Laurent (*Joseph)

J. Sepere?

Valsin Boutté

Simeon Labeau

Simeon Labeau

Alfred Jourdain

Mazin Pierre (*Pierre Mazin)

Louis Rouzan

Victor Hubert

Dussuau Emile (*Emile Dussuau) 

Francis Gardere (*Gardère)








M. E. Perrault

M. Camps (*Manuel)

Rob. Willard (*Robert)

Ant. Rousseau (*Antoine)

Arm. Bedout (*Armand) 

Jos. Percy (*Joseph)

Louis Legros

Ch. Middleton (*Charles)

Prosper Avril

Homer Boutté

Gus Bedout (*Gustave) 

Henri Labeau

Hypolite Nicolas

J. Sangade?

V. Populus

Edgar Davis

Marcelin Martin (*Martin Marcelin)

Robert Charles (*Charles Robert)

Mollay P. A. (*P.A. Mollay)

Louis Daniel

Lacoste Hortaire (probably Hortaire Lacoste)

Joseph Alcindor

Medard Nelson and his house.jpg

N. E. D. Morand (*Nelson) 

Ch. P. Vigers (*Charles)

F. Herriman (*Frederic)

Geo. Madison (*George)

E. J. Tennette (*Emile) 

A. J. Cheveau(*Auguste) 

Ben Xavier (*Benjamin)

Domingo Cadaron (*Dominique Cadaron) 

Isadore Armand 

Fran Pigneguy(Francis Pignéguy)

Henry L. Rey (*Louis)

J. Abelard (Joseph Abélard)

Joseph Rippoll

Fran Georges (*Francis) 

Aug. Motin (*Augustin Mutin) 

Fran. Diaz (*Francisco)

Jean Fournier

George James 

Manuel Barriere (Barrière) 

F. Tervalon (*François)

Francisco Oliba

Louis N. Fouché (*Nelson)

Edgar Davis

Patricio Martinez

Ch. Aubert (*Charles Auber)

Joes. Alcina (*Joseph) 

Armand Bond (*Bon) 

M. H. Nelson

H. Christophe (*Henri)

L. Pesson

Alfred Mary(*Jean Alfred Mary) 

A. Ferrand (*Armand or Joseph A.)

Ant. Steel

Jules Déjan

Ernest Alix

Jos. Rippoll (*Joseph)

Jos. Labeau

Fran Hernandez

Wm. Moulaizon (*William)

Ant Luciani (*Antoine/ Antonio) 

Joe. Burel (*Joseph)

Labeau Jean (*Jean Labeau) 

Engle Barthe (*also Engle Bart) 

Adam Manuel (*Manuel Adam) 

Antoine Pierre

George James (*George F. James) 

Marcelin Fortin

Nickerson William (*William Nickerson)

library econ hall.jpg
Bedou meme.jpg
Nickerson meme.jpg
Piron meme.jpg
bottom of page